CS373 Fall 2020: Jordan Wang

Jordan Wang
2 min readNov 1, 2020

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week I was able to go to online classes, do some work, and go outside and enjoy the cold weather. I was able to finish up a project for one of my other classes, so that was a big relief after I finished that. I also spent some time playing sports outside with some friends.

What’s in your way?

Not much is really in my way. I have some work I need to get done this weekend and some tests that I need to prepare for. Other than that, I don’t really have much in my way.

What will you do next week?

Next week, I have a test I need to study for. I also will finish up the next phase of the project with my group and turn it in before the deadline. We will also try to start working on the next phase as well. I also want to get out of my room more and kind of experience the beautiful Austin nature.

If you read it, what did you think of The Interface Segregation Principle?

I thought the article about The Interface Segregation Principle was very interesting. It was pretty nice to learn a lot of new things about structuring and designing your code. I definitely felt like I learned a lot from this article.

What was your experience of instance methods, class methods, static methods, regular expressions, and relational algebra?

I thought Professor Downing did a great job of explaining these concepts during class. I felt like it was really well taught, and I understood it quite well. However, there were some parts of the lecture I had some trouble with, so I will rewatch some of the lectures and kind of gain a deeper understanding of those topics.

What made you happy this week?

Something that made me happy this week was that I attended a virtual fall retreat for my campus ministry. It was nice because I got to meet a lot of new people and see a lot of familiar faces. I definitely felt it was a refreshing weekend just reflecting and learning more. Also, I had really good breakfast tacos this morning which was a nice bonus.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is to step outside for a couple minutes and go on some walks. I have been doing this recently, and I feel like it has been really helpful and stress-relieving especially during this time of midterms and recruiting. Also, the weather is becoming pretty nice now, as the Texas hot summer is almost over. Going on these walks have been very therapeutic and a good break from school work.

--

--